Ipoh City, is Malaysia third largest city in the country with a population of over 710,000 people and a gateway to the Cameron Highlands.  

Ipoh is the capital city of Perak state on the west coast of peninsular Malaysia. There are 5 nicknames for Ipoh: The City of Millionaires, Paloh, The Bougainvillea City, The Hill City and Ipoh. 

Ipoh cities into the turn of 19th century to developed the booming tin-mining industry propelled the sleepy town into the height of its glory peaked in the 1950s when during the British colonial era. 

Architecturally, the city center is characterized by colonial era Chinese shop houses and several impressive historical buildings from the British Colonial era such as the Railway Station, the Town Hall and the Court House.  

At the 1970s the economical of tin-mining industry of pricing collapse and the city’s growth stagnated tin mines were closed. The booming tin mining industry of Ipoh story was thus brought to a close (1970s). 

On 27 May 1988, it was granted city status by the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah. It is divided naturally by the Kinta River into two main townships – Ipoh Old Town and Ipoh New Town.  

The old town contains older and pre-war architectures comprising government buildings, shop lots, residences and historical landmarks. So, a very large of the historical buildings still existence and function. 

For more information about Malaysia visit us on JoyMalaysia.com, or join us on social media.      

Note, All images in this article credit as the following: 






About Author

Mr. Duke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email